Bacon and Stilton Rolls with Celery Soup

I know, I know. This is a vegetarian food blog and yet here is a post with bacon in the title. But it’s also my blog, so I’ll post what I want, thank you very much šŸ˜›

This is once again a recipe from Paul Hollywood’s bookĀ Bread, and originally I was going to modify it to leave out the bacon completely. But when baking bread, I borrow my non-veggie family’s kitchen, and my brother doesn’t like Stilton, and my parents agreed that the baconĀ didĀ sound nice, and since the recipe makes two loaves anyway, I decided to make one loaf of Stilton rolls and one loaf of bacon rolls.

So technically it’s only half non-vegetarian!

It started off as a normal bread recipe, before I added the crumbled/torn Stilton and/or bacon (my mum actually bought prosciutto instead of bacon, but it makes little difference) after the dough’s first rise. The recipe says to halve it to create two loavesĀ afterĀ adding the bacon and Stilton, but of course I halved it before adding them, so that they didn’t mix. I added bits at a time, folding them into the dough. My hands ended up covered in Stilton as it softened as I kneaded it in, but I much preferred that over the greasiness from touching the prosciutto.

ThenĀ I rolled them up, divided them into balls, and arranged them like so. The bacon loaf is on the right and the Stilton loaf is on the left.

My parent’s oven has a bread proving setting so I decided to try it out. For some reason, the Stilton loaf rose a lot more than the bacon loaf, possibly because the latter was on a lower shelf.

20170320_164122

20170320_173204

Here’s what they looked like when they were done!

20170320_180826

My brother was kind enough to open up the bacon ones (again, on the right) for me; I’d had quite enough of touching the bacon.

They were quite dense (more like scones than bread), even the Stilton ones which, as you can see, rose a lot more than the bacon ones and so should’ve been airier. While there were obviously lumps of prosciutto in the bacon ones, the Stilton melted into the dough, giving it a very subtle flavour of Stilton rather than nice chunks of strong Stilton flavour intermingled with the bread. My family loved both, but I personally found that, since they were quite rich, there came a point where I simply didn’t want to eat any more of them.

Although both were nice on their own (I’m told), we could certainly see how well the Stilton and bacon would go together in a loaf – it probably would have been better that way.

The bread recipe was accompanied by a recipe for celery soup, which I made while the bread was proving and baking. It was pretty straightforward, and came out nice, if ratherĀ mild.Ā It was definitely intended to show off the bread rather than be the star of the meal itself; it was much improved by eating with the bread.

Overall, these two recipes were uncomplicated and tasty, and I definitely recommendĀ giving them a go šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

